AMTA announces the 2012 national election results

Published: December 15, 2012

Full Press Release:

The American Massage Therapy Association® (AMTA®) announces the results of its 2012 national election, conducted electronically among its Professional members. Nancy Porambo of Pennsylvania was voted President-Elect. She will serve in that position from March 1, 2013 through February 28, 2014 when she will assume the position of President. On March 1, 2013 current President-Elect, Winona Bontrager of Pennsylvania, will become AMTA President.

Nathan Nordstrom of Georgia elected as Vice President and will serve a two-year term beginning March 1, 2013.

Three Members-at-Large of the Board of Directors also were elected: Christopher Deery (PA), S. Pualani Gillespie (HI), Maureen Hoock (MO)

Pat Collins (NY) and Barbara Ann Lis (IN) were elected to the Commission on Candidacy and will coordinate the candidate search for the 2013 national AMTA election.

A report on election results is available for AMTA members. (Members must login to view the report) Photos of those elected to the Board of Directors also soon will be available in About AMTA section.

The American Massage Therapy Association is the largest non-profit, professional association for massage therapists, massage students and massage schools. The association is directed by volunteer leadership elected by the membership and fosters ongoing, member involvement through its 51 chapters. AMTA works to advance the profession through ethics and standards, the promotion of fair and consistent licensing of massage therapists in all states, and public education on the benefits of massage. The association actively promotes its members to the public and potential employers.

Media contact: Ron Precht, 847-905-1649