Out-of-State License Applicants and Meeting Educational Requirements

Published: July 3, 2015

Our Lobbyist, Mark Molloy, shares some very encouraging news for out-of-state massage therapists looking to begin practicing in the Commonwealth. We'll continue to provide you with the most current information in this matter if changes arise. In order to ensure you see this information, we urge you to sign up for our AMTA-MA Chapter emails. Sign up here today.

What is the current law?

The Massachusetts Board of Registration for Massage Therapy requires 650 hours of initial education for licensure as a massage therapist within the Commonwealth. The 650 hours are broken down according to the Board Policy in re “Curriculum Guidelines For Applications Received After May 1, 2010”.

What will change?

As out-of-state applicants applied for licensure in the Commonwealth, it has become apparent that many of the transcripts reflect 650 hours of education, but in ways that are broken down differently than that required by the Massachusetts Board of Registration of Massage Therapy’s existing policy. Accordingly, the Massage Therapy Board decided to allow for the potential use of clinical training to supplement certain areas that did not meet the exact hours specified under the Board’s policy. The Board has cautioned that this policy will not extend to an area of education where the out-of-state applicant has otherwise received no training or education.

How does this potentially impact your practice?

In the event an existing massage therapy practice is looking to hire an out-of-state therapist, who will need Massachusetts licensure, this policy will make it easier for these applicants to practice in Massachusetts. To the Board’s credit, they have made it a point to recognize that certain schools provide training in a manner that does not exactly match up in every sub-category to the Board’s stated policy. Instead of penalizing an out-of-state practitioner looking to be licensed and work in the Commonwealth for being, for example, five hours short in one area, but exceeding that in another area, the Board will take a more in-depth analysis of the application to address such situations.

What you need to do if this applies to you?

If you are an out-of-state massage therapist or massage therapy establishment looking to assist a prospective employee, contact the Massachusetts Board of Registration for Massage Therapy at (617) 727-0054.